P&O - Pacific Eden

29 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    12
  • Very good

    14
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Terrible

    1

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

29 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Helen S

Contributor

  • 344 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Jan 2016

"Got what we paid for"

We cancelled a trip to Europe following the trouble in Paris so needed to find an alternative. So I got on the net, not really caring exactly where we would go, rather that the price was right. We decided on a cruise on the Pacific Eden going up the coast of Queensland. We were pleased with what we got - after all, $100 a day is pretty reasonable. Despite the media beatup on the gastro-intestinal outbreak on board (don't think I have been on board a ship where there wasn't at least a couple of cases) it was a very good trip. There are a few issues with the update to the previous HAL ship but nothing major. The only thing that really annoyed me was to be directed to be out of the cabin by 6am. Bit like we got your money, you've had your holiday, now get off. The entertainment from the ships company in the showroom was amongst the best I have seen before. As I said in my title, you get what you pay for so the general activities are basic, at the best, but do appeal to a lot of people. We were more than happy to spend our time reading and chatting to others.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: December 2015
James P

James P

Contributor

  • 219 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Apr 2017

"Happy sailings"

First time cruising with P&O. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Entertainment was great and varied to suit all kinds of people. The Pacific Eden is a smaller ship but had everything you needed. I enjoyed the adrenaline (The Edge) activities that they had to offer on board to kill some extra time. However, on a longer cruise I feel you would be bored towards the end of the cruise. Some more fun activities to engage you around the ship on sea days would be good. Food was outstanding. Plenty of choice and the specialty restaurants were very nice with the Italian and Asian restaurants at no extra cost (You just had to book, get in early or miss out) I enjoyed the ship, staff and facilities and visiting Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands and have already booked my next cruise back there. :)

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: November 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Paul M

Contributor

  • 149 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Feb 2016

"Satisfied "

As first time cruising wasn't to sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews of the boat we went on... After the first day I really couldn't fault much at all.. Not having anything to compare it to I was just going off the reviews I had read... In my mind the reviews I had read must of been of people that were just way to super fussy and just expect so much.... Our was nice , clean when we got in there and the cabin staff were so friendly and always there if we needed something.. While doing shopping the staff were very helpful ( but who wouldn't be when your spending money) . Food was always hot , fresh and plenty of it Yes it did feel like it was a little limited towards the end... But other then that couldn't say much bad about it at all... Plenty of bars never far at all if you needed a drink... The shows that we watched were great ... Over all the boat did show its age in certain areas but to me that's something that I would expect from a ship that spends its days a sea... Like everything it's only as good as you make it. But was very happy and we'll return...

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: January 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Dereck

Contributor

  • 133 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Dec 2015

"Snorkelling paradise"

Had a great time snorkelling at all four islands Noumea, Lifou island, Mystery island and Mare island. Ate free at surcharge restaurants Dragon Lady and Angelos most nights. Entertainment was top notch and even got to meet Neil Diamond! Sat around the piano bar for a few nights singing along to old favourites. Had great cocktails, especially the Midori splice which was a particular favourite. Found many places to retreat to for privacy and to quietly read a book. The Pantry was very "food court" style which was not all that great. The offerings there also did not change from day to day. Salt Grill by Luke Mangan was a real treat and his signature licorice dessert was delicious. Drinks were reasonably priced and it was great being able to have a wine whilst watching the show and then another at dinner. There was an outbreak of gastro on the ship though which closed the pool for the last two days. Fortunately we were not affected and by then we had enjoyed the best of the cruise already which were the port visits. We were also fortunate enough to win some professional portrait photos in a raffle as well. All in all an enjoyable trip.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: December 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Reyno

Contributor

  • 129 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Dec 2016

"1st time cruising"

We went with a group of close family friends. It was our first cruise (for all of us). We all really had a great time. Checking in and first time getting on board experience was a breeze and exciting. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We all had oceanview cabins. The cabin condition was not bad but looked dated. The ship is old - maybe when they recently refurbished the ship they did not really do much with the non-suite rooms. All common areas such as Atrium, bars, restaurants looked really good, new, and luxurious. Our stewards were really friendly and helpful. Entertainment crews were great. Our kids (and their friends) had a great time in Kids Club. The crew there were superbly friendly and helpful. I have to say maybe because our kids were with their friends is one of the reasons why they had so much fun. One of the best thing about the cruise is The Pantry. Apparently, we heard only P&O is the one that has this. It is a food court style eatery instead of a normal buffet. The free restaurants had great service and atmosphere, but the food was similar to The Pantry (just presented better). Overall it was a very exciting experience and we are all would love to go to another cruise.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: December 2016
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"NZD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"po-cruises\/pacific-eden\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruises.webjet.co.nz","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}